Processing as motivation tool for teenagers learning programming

Hey!

I’m a programming teacher working at a technical institute in one of the poorest areas in Brazil. These institutes are a federal government initiative to bring technical education nation wide, so when teenagers finish high school, they have a technician diploma. I teach in the informatics course, which focuses in software development (they have subjects such as algorithms, databases, web programming, and computer networks).

I’ll first tell you about the problems that I face as a programming teacher, and then how I thought about trying to overcome them. So, please, bear with me in this part that doesn’t talk about coding. :slight_smile:

I’ve been using Processing as a motivation tool for about a year now. I show them stuff that I’ve done – simple stuff, such as games made out of geometric shapes – and they become very interested in learning more. They want to do something similar to Flappy Bird, Tetris, Space Invaders, Counter Strike (I’ve heard that)… But then the steps to get there scare them. A simple implementation of collision detection makes them lose focus.

I have brilliant students, but they are few, and they don’t need motivation to code. I want to motivate the greater part of students who don’t do well. Remember I said that I teach in a poor area, and because of that, most people can’t afford to have quality education. So most of them get to the institute with poor understanding of basic concepts in maths, for example. They hate subjects such as maths and physics. Also, they are easily distracted by modern stuff, like Instagram and Facebook. They want to post their Processing animation they made of a ball bouncing up and down, but as soon as it gets complicated, their focus is gone.