Cheers to the Happy Coding Tutorials

Hello Happy Coding, and @Kevin in particular!

I’m a developer from Germany and wanted to reach out and thank you for your wonderful tutorials. You have a very good sense for explaining and coaching the reader through every step of your workouts - theoretical and practical.

I am not new to coding and got some five years of experience under my belt. Not much, but not totally new anymore, either. My employment puts me in a situation where I frequently have to start from scratch, getting in touch with new programming languages and technologies, to figure out what might be my employers best solution to embrace IT in their organisation.

It’s not my first roll on java, but for some reasons I decided to start from scratch, resetting my workbench as much as my way of thinking to perhaps come up with a better offer this time around.

Thus I got to your Happy Coding Blog! I’ve never worked with jetty, nor eclipse or processing. I’ve never done servlets before and had no idea of jsp (though now I see they are not too different from what I’ve seen in the .NET corner and done with python here and there).

Your posts always stick to their goal, and you are always true to your vision. You explain what is necessary and point out when there is more complicated stuff you are momentarily glossing over or skipping entirely. Thereby you found a neat balance between educating the theory up front and getting your pupils started - and keeping them motivated along the way! It’s as if you took the “worse is better” approach and applyed it to your way of mentoring, and I applaud to that as well!

For all these reasons I meant to reach out to you. It’s good to have people like you out in the big wide world, and I look forward to learn more from your extensive contents - and maybe stick around the forum and stay in touch. :slight_smile:

~Cheers!

2 Likes

Oh wow thank you so much!